Image of Prof. Steven k. Feiner

Steven K. Feiner

Steven K. Feiner is Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University, where he directs the Computer Graphics and User Interfaces Lab. His research interests include human-computer interaction, augmented reality and virtual environments, 3D user interfaces, knowledge-based design of graphics and multimedia, mobile and wearable computing, computer games, and information visualization.
[Website] E-mail: feiner [at]

Doctoral Students

Photograph of Brian Smith

Brian A. Smith

Brian is a Ph.D. candidate at Columbia University, working in both the Computer Vision Laboratory (with Prof. Shree K. Nayar) and the Computer Graphics and User Interfaces Laboratory (with Prof. Steven K. Feiner). He was also an NDSEG Fellow. His research combines computer vision, ubiquitous computing, and augmented reality. He is interested in helping technology fit into the bigger picture of people’s everyday lives.
[Website] E-mail:brian [at]

Photograph of Daniel Miau

Daniel Miau

[Website] E-mail:dmiau [at]


Carmine Elvezio

Research Staff Associate

Carmine Elvezio is a staff associate in the Computer Graphics and User Interfaces Lab at Columbia University. His research interests include interaction and visualization techniques in augmented and virtual reality and system design of real-time interactive 3D graphics applications. He received his MS in Computer Science from Columbia University in 2012 and his BS in Computer Science from the Polytechnic Institute of New York University in 2010.

[Website] E-mail: carmine [at]

Amir Baradaran

Creative Art-based Researcher

Amir Baradaran is a New York based Iranian-Canadian new media/performance artist. As the Creative Research Associate at Columbia University’s Computer Science department, Baradaran’s praxis focuses on the articulation of visual vocabularies that use Augmented Reality (AR) technology around notions of interactivity, data-mining, failed utopias, infiltration, body, identity and the ephemeral. Baradaran is a TEDx speaker and the recipient of the International Symposium on Mixed and Augmented Reality prize, UC Berkeley’s Artist Residency and Canada Council of the Arts grants. Reviews include Oxford University Press, New York Observer, ARTNET, National Public Radio, BBC, Forbes, Euro-News, ARTINFO and L’Actualité.

[Website] E-mail: amir.baradaran [at]

Jacob Evans Bullock  <jeb2228[at]>

Alan P McNaney <apm2144[at]>


Undergraduate Students

Frank Fong Ling <ffl2107[at]>

Zichuan Wang  <zw2395[at]>


Masters Students

Hiroshi Furuya  <hf2326[at]>

Alon Grinshpoon <ag3848[at]>

Yulin Lu  <yl3536[at]>

Bruce Wu <yw2909[at]>



Gabrielle Loeb  <gjl2113[at]>

Shirin Sadri <ss5218[at]>





Ohan Oda (Ph.D., ’15) <ohan[at]>

Ajoy Fernandes (M.Sc., ’15) <ajoysfernandes[at] >

Lauren Wilcox (Ph.D., ’13) <wilcox[at]>

Semih Energin (M.Sc., ’13)

Nicolas J. Dedual (M.Sc., ’09) <dedual[at]>

Blaine A. Bell (Ph.D., ’05) <blaine[at]>

Hrvoje Benko (Ph.D., ’07) <benko[at]>

Gábor Blaskó (Ph.D., ’07) <gblasko[at]>

Steve Henderson (Ph.D., ’11) <henderso[at]>

Tobias Höllerer (Ph.D., ’03) <htobias[at]>

Sinem Güven (Ph.D., ’06) <sinem[at]>

David Kurlander (Ph.D., ’93) <djk[at]>

Alex Olwal (M.Sc., ’02, KTH) <alx[at]>

Edward Ishak (Ph.D., ’07) <ishak[at]>

Sean White (Ph.D., ’09) <swhite[at]>

Simon Lok (Ph.D., ’05) <lok[at]>

Blair MacIntyre (Ph.D., ’98) <blair[at]>

Christian Sandor (Ph.D., ’05, TU München) <sandor[at]>

Mengu Sukan (Ph.D., ’17) <mengu[at]>

Dorée Seligmann (Ph.D., ’93) <doree[at]>

Michelle Zhou (Ph.D., ’98) <mzhou[at]>


Lab Alumni

Marc Abramson <ma345[at]>

Matthew Anderegg <mja105[at]>

Shezan Baig <sb2284[at]>

William Beaver <wmb2013[at]>

Clifford Beshers <beshers[at]>

Diane Beuschel <deb18[at]>

Aleksandr Bogomolov <aib7[at]>

Roxana Bradescu

Andreas Butz (Postdoc) <andreas.butz[at]>

Zhiyang Cao <zc2109[at]>

Isabella Chan <ic48[at]>

Weikuo Chen

Andrew Cheung <ac565[at]>

Norman Chin <nc[at]>

Thomas Chin <tc172[at]>

William Chiong <wmc14[at]>

Eun Ha Chung

Rolland Crittendon <rdc23[at]>

Ang Cui <ac2024[at]>

Sushil Da Silva <sds5[at]>

Rahmad Dawood <rd153[at]>

Thomas Dickes

Stephen Dossick <sdossick[at]>

Marc Eaddy <eaddy[at]>

Alexandra Ewert <alix[at]>

Elias Gagas <gagman[at]>

Ray Garcia <rg121[at]>

Bhashinee Garg <bg2223[at]>

Daniel Glaser <dmg[at]>

Prakash Gowri Shankor <pg2132[at]>

Phil Gross <png3[at]>

Marcus Haupt <haupt[at]>

Matthew Hiller <meh2108[at]>

Yoav Hirsch <yjh9[at]>

Wanshan Hu <wh2004[at]>

Alex Jaimes <ajaimes[at]>

Peter Kamali <kamali[at]>

Peter Karp <karp[at]>

Alex Klevitsky <ak192[at]>

Jason Kopylec <jkk2106[at]>

Jayavardhan Kota <jrk103[at]>

Michael Kraizman <kraizman[at]>

Henry Kung <hk2116[at]>

Jonathan Landers <jrl2121[at]>

Chihong Liang

Diana Lee  <dl2867[at]>

Jeong-han Lee <jl797[at]>

Mel Lew <melvin[at]>

Eric Li <ewl34[at]>

He Li  <hl2918[at]>

Randall Li <rql1[at]>

Bernard Lin

Thomas Magdahl

Alvin Mai <alv[at]>

Dominic Marino <dmm2141[at]>

Mitchell Morris <mjm311[at]>

Christian Murphy <cdm6[at]>

Vijay Anand Nagarajan <vn2117[at]>

Tarini Naravane <tsn8[at]>

Gary Ngai <gwn2003[at]>

Dustin Norlander <djn11[at]>

Takashi Okuma (Visiting Scientist) <okuma[at]>

Jueychong Ong <ong[at]>

David Orme <djo8[at]>

Donglai Pan  <dp2837[at]>

Ji-Soo Park <jp905[at]>

Erik Peterson <edp2002[at]>

Taniya Pirapokin <tp2026[at]>

Terry Pong <tp30[at]>

Jacob Porway <jmp204[at]>

Gus R. Rashid <gr139[at]>

Miriam Roiter <mr120[at]>

Sajid Sadi <sajid[at]>

Moshe Sambol <ms242[at]>

Xinshi Sha <xsha[at]>

Simon Shamoun <srs55[at]>

Matthew Shepherd <mes2124[at]>

Wensi “Connie” Shi <wcs2102[at]>

Vadim Strizhevsky

John Tang <jct88[at]>

Surabhan “Nick” Temiyabutr” <st234[at]>

Wei Teng <wt2146[at]>

Tachio Terauchi <tt323[at]>

Morgan Zindziswa Thompson <mzt2102[at]>

Keith Thoresz <kjt10[at]

Navdeep Tinna <nst7[at]>

Mark Treshock <mat140[at]>

Jonathan Uy <jju2002[at]>

Justin Vallon <jcv6[at]>

Cesar Vichido Vega <cv2139[at]>

Liqing Xu <xlq[at]>

Wendy Walasek <wlw2[at]>

Chris Wang <csw9[at]>

Lawrence Wang <lcw2001[at]>

John Waugh <jrw2005[at]>

Catherine Ilona Wes  <ciw2109[at]>

Jason Winokur <jw2183[at]>

Pearson Wung <wung[at]>

Xin (Amy) Xu  <x.xu[at]>

Ryuji Yamamoto <kukkyny[at]>

Lu Yang  <ly2350[at]>

Ruigang Yang <ryang[at]>

Tianwei Yao <ty48[at]>

Cheng Zhang  <cz2398[at]>

Tiantian Zhou <tiantian[at]>

Di (Judy) Zhu  <dz2311[at]>

Zhenyu Zhu <zz2103[at]>

Igor Zomb 

Noah Zweben  <njz2104[at]>